The Student News Site of Clemson University

The Tiger

The Tiger

The Tiger

Young and Kwasny win CUSG presidential election

Photo credit to Caleb Browder, Contributer

Presidential candidates Diamond Brown and Logan Young share a hug after the announcement of Young and Kwasny’s victory.

At 4 p.m. on March 8, Logan Young and Andrew Kwasny were revealed to be Clemson University’s next student body president and vice president, respectively.

Running under the platform “Uproar,” Young and Last received 50.48 percent of the votes (4286 votes). Their platform consists of three sections: School Spirit, Academics and Community. The sections respectively focus on enhancing events and traditions, improving academic-related topics around campus and refining policies related to campus and beyond. More details can be found on their website.

CUSG senators were announced as well.

For the College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences, the newly elected senators are Nathanael Stephens (269 votes), Cole Revis (203 votes) and Madison Bodine (155 votes).

For the College of Architecture, Arts and Humanities, Matthew Spencer (494 votes), Emily Eggers (480 votes) and Cameron Davis (460 votes).

For the College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences, Will Galloway (956 votes), Anna Wallace Clark (857 votes), Lauren Drum (373 votes), Roann Abdeladl (352 votes) and Benjamin Hopkins (298 votes).

For the College of Business, Matthew Innocenti (836 votes), Michael McNulty (699 votes), Jainada Williams (500 votes), Sudarshan Sridharan (448 votes), John Traurig (422 votes) and Drew Masters (370 votes).

For the College of Education, Samuel Snipes (136 votes).

For the College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences, Aparna Mahendranath (562 votes), Blair Woody (527 votes), Hunter Bond (416 votes), Kathleen Browne (408 votes), Cassidy Smith (390 votes), Gracie Pope (356 votes) and Aaron Wells (331).

For the College of Science, Matthew Dimond (392 votes), Will Cotterman (358 votes), Blake Parker (353 votes) and Julia Weaver (350 votes).

For the senior class, Sloane Perkins (336 votes), Marilyn Hazlett (286 votes) and Rachel Clyburn (278 votes).

For the junior class, Andrew Gasparini (370 votes), Samantha Hayes (292 votes) and Tyler McDougald (289 votes).

For the sophomore class, Libby Milano (375 votes), Scott Driggers (289 votes) and Jack DuBro (272 votes).

The newly elected Senators at Large are Riley Baker (286 votes), Jack Davies (271 votes),  Carson Wood (242 votes), Leya Bellamy (239 votes), Tsagan Kutinow (234 votes), Wajdi Halabi (229 votes), Harrison Wetherell (222 votes), Luke Anastasi (219 votes), Will Billbrough (218 votes), Liberty Egan (217 votes), Marcus Coppola (214 votes), Brendan Tobin (210 votes), David Kindervater (202 votes) Robert Falconer (200 votes), Brittany Bynum (197 votes) and Jasmin Baxley (191 votes).

A record-breaking 8530 students voted in this year’s election. Swearing in will occur later this month.

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Tiger

Your donation will support the student journalists of Clemson University . Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Tiger

Comments (0)

All The Tiger Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *