The Student News Site of Clemson University

The Tiger

The Tiger

The Tiger

Malik and Julia win student body elections

Tripp Tucker, Provided

Malik Balogun and Julia Blouin embrace after learning the results of the election.

The Clemson student body has spoken and Malik Balogun is the new Student Body President and Julia Blouin the Student Body Vice President.

Balogun and Blouin were met with a round of applause in the Carillon Garden on Friday after the results of the general election were shared, affirming that they will be the next to hold office within Clemson Undergraduate Student Government. The pair received 4037 votes, or 66.6 percent of votes cast.

“I am super excited to be able to serve the student body for the next year. I can’t wait to help Clemson achieve new heights and be the best student body president I can be,” said Balogun. 

The official transition of power will take place in the coming weeks and Balogun is ready to hit the ground running. 

“I think the first thing we want to get started on is this First Friday Festival,” said Balogun of the event to be planned for the first home football game in September. “We want to be able to work alongside the city of Clemson, CUSG, and Central Spirit to get things rolling.”

The First Friday Festival would be a new addition to the First Friday Parade, which would open downtown Clemson to all the organizations and community with the parade. The event hopes to bring local restaurants, live music and students together on College Ave, according to Balogun’s platform.

“I’m excited to get started with the First Friday Festival, but also supporting the projects that are hoping to end this semester,” said Bouin, echoing Balogun’s message and sharing some of her own goals. “I’m really hoping to dive into mental health, into parking, and I’m just hoping that everyone’s suggestions and all their ongoing platform ideas come into concrete plans for our experience.”

Will Reinert, departing student body president, will soon enter his lame duck period as the newly elected leaders transition into their new roles. 

“What’s so unique about Clemson as a whole is that everything you do, it’s for the striving of leaving something behind better than yourself, and I know that if I’m leaving behind Malik Balagun and Julia Bouin, I’m leaving behind something that is a lot better than me,” said Reinert. 

He went on to describe the pair as “incredible leaders that are action oriented,” as well as two outstanding people who are, “going to be great friends to every single Clemson student.” 

Senate results were also announced, listed below. Additionally, Senate Bill 26 passed with 93.54% of the vote, and Senate Bill 30 passed with 94.29% of the vote. Both of these bills required a 2/3 vote from the student body to pass. 


College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences: Kelsie Dean – 249 votes

College of Architecture, Arts, and Humanities: Rachel Castellani – 308 votes

College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences: 

Douglas Chadmon – 821 votes

Kellan Fenegan – 564 votes

Scotty Moore – 498 votes

Leah Terry – 487 votes

Caroline Tyler – 429 votes 

College of Business:

David Moore – 473 votes

Katelyn Terchick – 438 votes

Maximus Boscaglia – 400 votes

Paul Roy – 369 votes

Kathrine Bedard – 359 votes

Campbell Bossong – 342 votes

College of Education: Matthew Vlacich – 178 votes

College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences:

Min Shin – 321 votes

Jason Timberlake – 303 votes

Riley Wright – 264 votes

Sarah Miller – 264 votes

Harrison Langpaul – 255 votes

Ammi Zimmerman – 239 votes

Hayden Boatwright – 218 votes

College of Science:

Halee Lott – 517 votes

Shelby Mozingo – 464 votes

Lauren Simmons – 432 votes

Ruxi Xia – 336 votes

Senior Class:

Michael Anne Pace – 359 votes

Keillen Rico Espinoza – 231 votes

Felder Keener Fogle – 204 votes

Junior Class:

Shreya Tellur – 408 votes

Caroline Olivia Avinger – 317 votes

Riley Wasse – 269 votes

Sophomore Class:

Jorell Banks – 327 votes

Olivia Frazier – 319 votes

Daniel Moon – 294 votes


Caroline O’Neal – 237 votes

Taylor Uremovich – 227 votes

Abby Szlosek – 222 votes

Raleigh Adams – 208 votes

Samuel Butler Brandes – 192 votes

Jarrett Holman – 178 votes

Emily Cope – 175 votes

Elizabeth Zarrilli – 171 votes

Hannah Rizik – 170 votes

Hayley Levin – 166 votes

Dodson Wood – 155 votes

Lizzie Chiarovano – 145 votes

Benjamin Matthew Bone – 140 votes

Tucker Ann Norris – 139 votes

Charles Harland Prunkl – 136 votes

Victor Kupec – 124 votes

Alexander Sauer – 121 votes

Cason Smith – 121 votes

Hannah Gertz – 120 votes

Trevor Canaday – 118 votes

Senate Executive Officers:

President – Thomas Newell

President Pro-Tempore – Sidney Smith

Secretary – Amanda Murray
Clerk – A.J. Ilardi
David Ferrara, Editor-in-Chief contributed to the reporting of this story. 

Leave a Comment
Donate to The Tiger

Your donation will support the student journalists of Clemson University . Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment and cover our annual website hosting costs.

More to Discover
Donate to The Tiger

Comments (0)

All The Tiger Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *